Call for Nominations: Audrey Richards Prize

Call for Nominations: Audrey Richards Prize

Audrey Richards Prize for the best British doctoral thesis in African Studies

Dr Audrey Richards, CBE (1899–1984) was a pioneering British social anthropologist who worked mainly in sub-Saharan Africa, notably Zambia, South Africa and Uganda. She held lectureships and directorships at LSE, Witwatersrand, Makerere, and Cambridge. She was the Second President of ASAUK.

The Audrey Richards Prize is awarded biennially for the best doctoral thesis in African Studies which has been successfully examined in a British institute of higher education during the two calendar years immediately preceding the next ASAUK Conference. So the next prize will be for theses examined between 1 January 2014 and 31 December 2015.

The prize is something which will enhance any graduate’s CV and is accompanied by a certificate and an attractive package of book and journal vouchers from the generosity of our publisher donors. The winner of the 2014 Prize was Sarah O’Neill of Goldsmiths, University of London (‘Defying the Law, Negotiating Change. The Futanke’s Opposition to the National Ban on FGM in Senegal), with three runners up: George Karekwaivanan of Oxford University (‘Legal Encounters: Law, State and Society in Zimbabwe, c. 1950-1990); Zoe Marks of Oxford University (‘The Internal Dynamics of Rebel Groups. Politics of Material Viability and Organizational Capacity, RUF, Sierra Leone’); and Holly Porter of LSE (‘After Rape: Justice and Social Harmony in Northern Uganda).

Nominations must be made by supervisors or examiners, with the permission of the candidate, by 15 May 2016 to Dr Insa Nolte, Department of African Studies and Anthropology, Arts Building, University of Birmingham, Edgbaston, Birmingham, B15 2TT. Nominations should be accompanied by a supporting letter of up to 300 words, a copy of the thesis, and where possible a copy of the examiners’ report. The recommendation for the award will be made by a small committee headed by Dr Nolte, the Vice-President of ASAUK, and confirmed by the ASAUK Council. The prize will be presented at the Biennial Conference at Cambridge in September 2016.

Share this: