ASAUK 2018

Call for thematic streams

 

The next ASAUK conference will be held on 11-13 September 2018 at the University of Birmingham.

Stream organisers are responsible for organising at least two thematically linked panels, with a panel normally consisting of a minimum of three paper presenters and one chair. They are also expected to respond to proposals from colleagues who wish to contribute panels or individual papers to their stream. In acknowledgement of their contribution to the success of the conference, stream organisers will also be given priority with regard to any bursaries for Africa-based scholars awarded by the ASAUK.

We are keen on receiving proposals from Africans and Africa-based scholars!

If you are interested in organising a thematic stream, please contact Insa Nolte AND Elisa Tuijnder (m.i.nolte@bham.ac.uke.tuijnder.2@bham.ac.uk) with the relevant details by 15 September 2017.

We look forward to hearing from you!

The following thematic streams have already been proposed:

The Everyday in DR Congo: Negotiating Change and Continuity in Precarious Times

The 2018 stream invites scholars to reflect on experiences, imaginations and representations of “the everyday” in the DR Congo, past and present.

Organisers: Katrien Pype (katrien.pype@kuleuven.be); Toni Smith (TXS413@student.bham.ac.uk;); Rueben Loffman (r.loffman@qmul.ac.uk)

More information will follow soon.

Celebrating the Work of Karin Barber

This stream invites panels that reflect upon Barber’s work, and offer directions for exciting new research in Anthropology and African Studies.

Organisers: Rebecca Jones (R.K.Jones@bham.ac.uk); Insa Nolte (M.I.Nolte@bham.ac.uk)

More information will follow soon.

90 years of the International African Institute

As the IAI’s journal Africa prepares to celebrate its 90th birthday, members of its prestigious Editorial Advisory Board offer papers exploring the journal’s distinctive contribution – its interest in and commitment to documenting ‘life on the ground’ – and proposing how it might position itself in future.

Organisers: Stephanie Kitchen (sk111@soas.ac.uk); Karin Barber (K.J.BARBER@bham.ac.uk); Deborah Jones (D.A.James@lse.ac.uk)

More information will follow soon.

Living as Women and Girls in 21st Century African Societies

This panel invites papers that interrogate the ways in which the lived experiences of women resident in Africa reflect their embodiment of intra-personal intersectional identities.

Organiser: Alease Brown (aleasebrown.school@gmail.com)

More information will follow soon.

Constitutions, Law and Justice

Panels might include – social and economic rights; pro bono lawyering; African legal education; African women’s legal landmarks; Prof Gordon Woodman (Law Faculty, Birmingham) and his contribution to African Law.

Organiser: Ambreena Manji  (ManjiA1@cardiff.ac.uk)

More information will follow soon.

Muslim Written Intellectual Tradition in Africa

Muslim chronicles leave us with a picture of scholars as ideological doers who wrote informed by the developments and dialectics of their day. The writings are invaluable sources to modern scholars of African Studies. To this end, we make a Call for Papers on Muslim intellectual writing in Africa.

Organisers: Mohamed Mathee (smathee@uj.ac.za); Bruce Hall (ouagadoo@yahoo.com)

More information will follow soon.

Africa Reads

We invite panel proposals on readers of African language literatures, and on local discourses about the social meanings of reading, as well as on generational shifts in reading patterns.

Organiser: Carli Coetzee (Cc76@soas.ac.uk); Rebecca Jones (r.k.jones@bham.ac.uk)

More information will follow soon.

The Politics of Development in Africa

Organiser: Jonathan Fisher (J.Fisher@bham.ac.uk)

More information will follow soon.

Slavery in African Societies

Organiser: Benedetta Rossi (RossiB@adf.bham.ac.uk)

More information will follow soon.

Legal Bureaucracies

Organisers: Jessica Johnson (J.Johnson.5@bham.ac.uk), Maxim Bolt (m.bolt@bham.ac.uk), George Hamandishe Karekwaivanane ()

More information will follow soon.

Marriage in Africa

Organisers: Kate Skinner (K.A.Skinner@bham.ac.uk); Benjamin Lawrance (bnl@rit.edu)

More information will follow soon.

The Infrastructure Question

Physical infrastructure is at the top of the policy agenda across Africa. The investment is made in a dynamical space – many interconnected and fast-changing nodes. Consequently, most challenges of infrastructure do not admit long-term closed solutions. We must ask, to what extent must we confront the reality of dynamical space of infrastructure investment at the start of projects?

Organiser: World Road Association; Fred Amonya (fred.amonya@lyciar.com)

More information will follow soon.

Please note:

  • ASAUK conferences do not limit participants’ contributions, and conference participants are allowed to present as many papers as are accepted by the organisers. Participants are also allowed to take on multiple duties as chairs and discussants.
  • We are not yet able to provide the final prices for conference attendance but we expect to publish an indicative price list in September 2017.
  • The ASAUK is run solely by volunteers. Income from the conference pays for the cost of the hosting university’s infrastructure, organisation, subsidies for student presenters, bursaries for Africa-based scholars, prices, and the Association’s support of UK-African collaboration through Writing Workshops and Teaching Fellowships.
  • Calls for single panels and individual papers will be published from September 2017.