The 2018 Audrey Richards Prize

Dr Audrey Richards, CBE (1899–1984) was a pioneering British social anthropologist who worked mainly in sub-Saharan Africa, notably Zambia, South Africa and Uganda. She held lectureships and directorships at LSE, Witwatersrand, Makerere, and Cambridge. She was the Second President of ASAUK.

The Audrey Richards Prize is awarded biennially for the best doctoral thesis in African Studies which has been successfully examined in a British institution of higher education during the two calendar years immediately preceding the next ASAUK Conference.

The Audrey Richards prize is an early mark of esteem for graduate work and is accompanied by a certificate and an attractive package of book and journal vouchers from the generosity of our publisher donors.

The panel was: Dr Madhu Krishnan, Dr Neil Carrier (both Bristol University) Prof John Harrington and Prof Ambreena Manji (both Cardiff University). 

We received 22 submissions and shortlisted 5: Dr Simukai Chigudu, Dr Ini Dele-Adedeji, Dr Clara Devlieger, Dr Nicki Kindersley, Dr George Roberts.


Dr Simukai Chigudu ‘State of Emergency’: The Politics of Zimbabwe’s Cholera Outbreak, 2008-2009 Department of International Development University of Oxford (December 2017).


Dr Nicki Kindersley ‘The Fifth Column? The Political Organization of Southern Sudanese Migrants in Khartoum, 1969-2005 Department of History Durham University (April 2016).

Dr Clara Devlieger ‘People Who Need Rights’? Disability and the Pursuit of Value in Kinshasa, Democratic Republic of Congo Department of Social Anthropology University of Cambridge (May 2017).

Share this:

Leave a Reply