ASAUK NextGen2020+

Journal publishing on the African continent

On June 10 at 9 am Accra/10 am Lagos/11 am Johannesburg/12 am Dar es Salaam, join ASAUKNextGen2020+ in collaboration with #JournalWorkAcademy,

@AfricaJacs and @divinefuh to talk about the issues to consider before starting a new journal at your institution.
The most important issue, @AfricaJacs  will argue, is sustainability. If you want to take part, please email cc76@soas.ac.uk for the zoom code. (Apologies to those west of Dakar, the morning time was chosen in response to internet patterns and reception quality).

 

Work and wage labour

The ASAUKNextGen2020+ is on Saturday 5 June at 10 am in London and Lagos, 9 am in Accra, 12 midday in Nairobi and Dar es Salaam, 5 pm in Beijing; and we shall continue the International Workers’ Day conversation.

Scholarship on youth across Africa pays a great deal of attention to dreams of material wealth, and scams and bluffs to seem or become wealthy. What alternative dreams are there outside the celebration of consumption; beyond the shiny mall, designer shoes, cars, gold and diamonds? What forms of labour and community-making are created and endure amidst precarity? How do we make meaning, every day, beyond and outside wage labour? We are “NextGen” but we are also interested in what an older generation do to make the world every day. One of the inspirations behind this conversation is the work done by Crown Troupe of Africa and Illuminate Theatre, and we hope to have a member of the troupe talk to us about the labour practices and meaning-making work of their work space called The Lab.

If you are interested in taking part in this Saturday morning conversation about the differences between work and wage labour, and between consumer dreams and dreams of communities please email cc76@soas.ac.uk for the zoom link.

 

International Workers’ Day

On International Workers’ Day (aka May Day in certain regions), ASAUK Next Generation 2020+ hosted a conversation around representations of workers in popular culture and the media. The conversation took place online between 10 and 12 midday London and Lagos time. Across Africa, 1 May is recognised as Workers’ Day or Labour Day, and in many locations workers gather to celebrate their labour unions, labour organisations often wearing uniforms identifying their trades or occupations.  Recently scholarship on labour has prominently featured ideas around boredom, waithood, and lack of opportunities to enter the labour market. In this session we invite participants to discuss projects that aim to celebrate (or complicate) and document labour and labourers, across media and modes. What forms are taken by the popular culture of labour movements and labour unions across occupations as diverse as barbershop workers, domestic labourers and market seamstresses, and what are the expressive forms deployed by labour movements and trade union associations?

 

Gallery tour by Prof Joseph Oduro-Frimpong

The @ASAUK_News #NextGeneration2020+ initiative kicks off with a gallery tour by Prof Joseph Oduro-Frimpong, founder and director of the Centre for African Popular Cultural Studies at Ashesi University in Ghana He discusses his private collection of barber shop signs and hand painted movie posters exhibited at the Nubuke Foundation in Accra. Watch the video he made for us on the ASAUK YouTube channel: https://youtu.be/XDMyixYTwnc

https://twitter.com/ASAUK_News/status/1386204054574047234?s=20