All Members welcome to the

To be held

Institute of Advanced Studies (IAS) Common Ground Room,
Ground floor, South Wing, Wilkins Building, Main Building, UCL,
Gower Street, London WC1E 6BT

Nominations of Members for Election as Officers and as members of the Council of the African Studies Association of the United Kingdom. Members are asked to bear in mind standing Order No. 1 (18 April 1966, amended 23 February 1979) reproduced below:

Standing order No.1: Nomination of Members for Election to the Council
Not less than three weeks in advance of the day of the Annual General Meeting, the Honorary Secretary shall invite nominations from Members for election to fill the vacancies occurring on the Council at the Annual General Meeting at which election is to take place.

For a nomination to be valid, it should be in writing, bear the signature of not less than two Members as nominators and also the signature of the Member nominated to confirm that he would be willing to serve if elected, and be in the hands of the Honorary Secretary before the start of the Annual General Meeting at which the election is to take place.

The Council shall have the duty, after considering the nominations submitted, to make such further nomination as may seem to it needful to secure a due balance of disciplinary and regional interests on the Council.

In accordance with this Standing Order, the Honorary Secretary now invites nominations for election to the Council at the AGM to be held on Wednesday the 16th of October, 5pm in the IAS Common Ground Room, (ground floor of the Wilkins Building in South Wing, Main UCL Building, on Gower Street).

There will be 6 vacancies on the Council. We seek nominations from the membership for the Council seats of those members of Council retiring in 2019 (see below). Please email nominations (name, professional affiliation, email address) to Nici Nelson ( Please ensure that the nominee is a member of ASAUK and is willing to stand.

NB Please note that at the 1995 Annual General Meeting it was resolved that Council members were eligible to serve two terms consecutively. In 2011/2012 the Project Officer post was created.

Current Council of the A.S.A.U.K. at the time of the AGM

President: Ambreena Manji
Vice–President: Ola Uduku
Honorary Secretary: Nici Nelson
Honorary Treasurer: Toby Green
Projects Officers: Carli Coetzee and Vincent Hiribarren
ASAUK Newsletter Editor: Simon Heap
Website Officer: David Kerr and Poppy Cullen

Co-opted Council Members:
James Currey
Carl Death ( African Affairs)
Stephanie Kitchen (IAI)
Sheila Ruiz (RAS)
Lucy McCann (SCOLMA)

Elected Council Members

A. Nominations for Council
Retiring 2019
After First Term:
Rebecca Jones, Sharifah Sekalala, Louisa Egbunike, Cherry di Leonardi, Nic Cheeseman

After Second Term:
Maxim Bolt

Retiring 2020
After First Term:
Ini Dele Adedeji, Toni Haastrup, Njoke Wamai

After Second Term:
Stacey Hynd, Phia Steyn

Retiring 2021
After First Term:
Jonathan Fisher, Katharina Oke, Nathan Richards, Helene Neveu Kringlebach, Lindiwe Dovey

After Second Term
Jose Lingna Nafafe, Reg. Cline Cole, Paul Basu

Please RSVP your attendance, no later than the 15th October to

We look forward to seeing you there!

Share this: