Audrey Richards Prize for the Best Thesis

Audrey Richards Prize for the Best Thesis

Dr Audrey Richards, CBE (1899–1984) was a pioneering British social anthropologist who worked mainly in sub-Saharan Africa, notably Zambia, South Africa and Uganda. She held lectureships and directorships at LSE, Witwatersrand, Makerere, and Cambridge. She was the Second President of ASAUK.

The Audrey Richards Prize is awarded biennially for the best doctoral thesis in African Studies which has been successfully examined in a British institution of higher education during the two calendar years immediately preceding the next ASAUK Conference.

The Audrey Richards prize is an early mark of esteem for graduate work and is accompanied by a certificate and an attractive package of book and journal vouchers generously provided by our publisher donors.

The cut-off is for any dissertation submitted between 1 January 20​20 and 31 December 2021​. Deadline for the submission of nominations will be 31 March 202​2​.

Nominations should consist of a short letter of nomination from the supervisor or external examiner, accompanied by the internal and external examiner’s reports. Please note when writing your nomination that it will assist the Audrey Richards Prize readers and evaluators if you can illustrate why the nominee deserves recognition. Your supporting statement should elaborate on why the nominee’s accomplishments are worthy of the award.

The recommendation for the award is made by a Committee headed by Dr Carli Coetzee, the Vice-President of ASAUK, and confirmed by the ASAUK Council. The prize will be presented at the Biennial Conference in September 2022.

Nominations should be emailed to Dr Carli Coetzee, Vice-President of ASAUK at (please include ‘Audrey Richards Prize’ in the subject line). The thesis should be emailed as a pdf document along with the examiners’ reports to

Please make sure you have checked all the following:

  1. No self-nomination, the nomination must come from a supervisor or examiner
  2. The thesis must have been completed at a UK university
  3. The thesis must have been successfully defended or awarded between 1 January 2020 and 31 December 2021
  4. Nominations should be accompanied by a letter of motivation written by the examiner or the supervisor.
  5. Thesis and supporting documents should be sent as pdf files, not word files.

Share this: