Distinguished Africanist Award

Distinguished Africanist Award

Professor Paulo Fernando de Moraes Farias and Professor Karin Barber received the 2017 and 2018 Distinguished Africanist Awards respectively.

The Distinguished Africanist Award was inaugurated by the ASAUK as a way of paying tribute to people who have made exceptional contributions to the field of African studies, i.e. scholars who have in one way or another expanded and disseminated knowledge of Africa, and interest in Africa. The award is not confined to academics. It is intended for people who have contributed largely to African Studies in the UK, or who have strengthened links between African Studies here and in Africa itself. The first awards were made during the ASAUK conference on Human Rights in Africa at Preston in 2001.

Nominations for the 2019/20 award should be sent to David Kerr (Hon. Sec.) on D.Kerr@bham.ac.uk and copied to Lizzie Orekoya (RAS/ASAUK Administrator) on ras@soas.ac.uk

Deadline for nominations is 31 March 2020.

Share this:

Leave a Reply