The African Studies Association UK (ASAUK) invites publishers to nominate titles for the Fage & Oliver Prize. The ASAUK presents the Fage & Oliver Prize to the author of an outstanding original scholarly work published on Africa during the preceding two years. 

John Donnelly Fage (1921-2002) and Roland Oliver (1923-2014) were pioneers of British African Studies. After a decade teaching in the University of the Gold Coast, Fage spent the rest of his career at Birmingham University where he founded the Centre for West African Studies (CWAS). With Oliver he founded The Journal of African History (1960). Oliver taught at the School of Oriental and African Studies (1948 -1986). He was one of the founders of the African Studies Association of the United Kingdom (1963) and played a major role in the establishment of the British Institute in Eastern Africa.

The winner of the Fage & Oliver Prize will be announced at the Biennial ASAUK Conference in Cardiff in 2020. A list of the finalists for the Prize will be published in the programme of the meeting and on the ASAUK’s website at

Nominations are made directly by publishers who may nominate no more than 3 titles. Eligible titles would be original non-fiction scholarly works published in English (or translated into English) and distributed in the United Kingdom. Entries from all continents meeting these criteria are welcome. We especially welcome nominations from small and independent publishers. Publishers must supply 3 copies of each title submitted. Following submission, publishers may be asked to supply up to 4 additional copies to the judging panel.

The subject matter has to significantly deal with Africa and/or related areas (Cape Verde, Madagascar, or Indian Ocean Islands off the East African coast). Collections and compilations, proceedings of symposia, new editions of previously published books, bibliographies, and dictionaries are not eligible. 

The winner of the 2018 Fage & Oliver prize was announced at the Biennial ASAUK Conference, held at the University of Birmingham. The winner was Professor Francis B Nyamnjoh for #RhodesMustFall: Nibbling at Resilient Colonialism in South Africa (Bamenda: Langaa RPCIG, 2016).You can read Prof Nyamnjoh’s reflections on his book here:

Only books with a 2018 or 2019 copyright are eligible for the 2020 Prize. The deadline for submissions is 31 December 2019.

Three copies of nominated monographs should be sent by 31 December 2019 to:

Prof Ambreena Manji
President, African Studies Association UK
School of Law and Politics, Cardiff University, Museum Avenue, Cardiff CF10 3AX


Deliveries will not be possible after Friday 20 December 2019 until Thursday 2 January 2020 as the School of Law and Politics will be shut for the festive season. 

Any copies of books that are nominated by Tuesday 31 December must be received by Friday 10 January to be eligible for consideration for the Fage and Oliver Prize.  

Inquiries can be directed to her at:


Share this:

Leave a Reply