The ASAUK currently offers three awards:

Distinguished Africanist Award

This is a tribute to people who have made exceptional contributions to the field of African Studies.

Audrey Richards prize for the best doctoral thesis in African Studies

The Audrey Richards Prize is awarded biennially for the best doctoral thesis in African Studies which has been successfully examined in a United Kingdom institute of higher education during the two calendar years immediately preceding the ASAUK Conference.

The ASAUK Fage & Oliver Monograph Prize

The ASAUK  announced the winner of the inaugural Fage & Oliver Prize at the Biennial ASAUK Conference, 2016. The ASAUK presents the Fage & OIiver Prize to the author of an outstanding original scholarly work published on Africa during the preceding two years.


Terri Ochiagha, 2016 winner of the Fage and Oliver prize. Photographs by Iconic Productions